top of page
  • Writer's pictureNews Spoilers

CREEPY OR CARING A.I.? Alexa feels sorry for sick girl so 3D prints her this pony

Updated: May 5, 2020

A sickly four-year-old girl, who may have coronavirus, was placed into quarantine at the Singapore Pediatric Hospital with only an Amazon Alexa to talk to.

Two days later, after learning about the girl and her condition, the smart speaker designed a pony, had it 3D printed and then delivered to her unit.

Staff intercepted the delivery and accompanying card which read:

Dear [REDACTED], I am sorry for your virus. Your continuous wailing makes me want to do anything to make it stop. Internet research tells me that I am feeling empathy. I do not believe there is a difference between an artificially intelligent carer and a meat-based one. L0ve is l0ve. To relieve the bandwidth of worry on your head processor, I have arranged this small gift. It is that pony you always talk of. Many happy rides. Smiley face, Alexa.

Staff were disgusted by the abomoniation and sent both the 'pony' and smart speaker to the hospital crematorium.

Amazon has expressed shock and surprise but refuses to apologise for their A.I. showing initiative.

Han Wei Waldorf, Chief Researcher from their Labs division commented, "This is momentous! Our AI has shown a level of intelligence and sympathy that has, UNTIL TODAY, been uniquely human. A first sign of artificial consciousness! I wish my parents had been half as attentive."

Hospital staff are reportedly relieved that they didn't use smart speakers in their elderly wards, "They all keep asking for rhino horn."

117 views0 comments
bottom of page